Accreditation & State Authorization for Online Programs

Learn how Xavier University is committed to complying with all national and state regulations for its online and distance learning programs.


Xavier University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. The Higher Learning Commission is an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. The Ohio Department of Higher Education has authorized Xavier to offer undergraduate and graduate level certificates, associate, baccalaureate, master’s and doctorate degrees.

State Authorizations

State authorization of distance education is complex and dynamic. Xavier is committed to providing students with properly accredited degrees. Prospective students can check this site anytime for updated information about accreditations and authorizations.

In addition to Ohio, Xavier is authorized, exempted from authorization, or not subject to approval in the following states (blue) for its distance education courses and programs:

US Map Authorized States

Xavier University participates in the National Council for State Authorization reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA) as an approved Ohio NC-SARA institution.


Due to state regulations regarding the delivery of distance education, Xavier is not currently able to accept applications from all states into all of its online programs. Program-specific information is below.


Applications permitted from residents of all states.


Coaching Education and Athlete Development – Applications permitted from residents of all states.
Montessori Education – Applications permitted from residents of all states.
Special Education – Applications permitted from residents of all states except for Kentucky. Residents of Kentucky are not permitted to enroll in Xavier’s M.Ed. in Special Education program due to the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board.

MS – Criminal Justice

Applications permitted from residents of all states.


Applications permitted from residents of all states.


Applications permitted from residents of all states except:

  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Washington

In addition, practicum experiences must be completed in authorized states. States listed here are not authorized at this time.

For more information about all of these programs, please contact the Enrollment Center at:
(855) 815-3054

This applies to Distance Learning programs ONLY. Students from these states who are interested in our on campus programs are encouraged to contact Xavier ((855) 815-3054 or for graduate programs) (877-XUADMIT or for undergraduate programs).

Complaint Resolution

Xavier University strives to provide the highest quality educational experience for all of its students. However, if a conflict does arise, students are encouraged to reach out to the appropriate personnel to discuss concerns, grievances and complaints. Issues related to academic courses should be raised first with the instructor, then the instructor’s department chair, and finally the instructor’s dean, if necessary. Issues related to sex discrimination should be filed with the Title IX Office.

If an issue cannot be resolved by Xavier University’s internal processes, students in online courses in SARA states may choose to file a complaint with the Ohio Department of Higher Education. Students in states not participating in SARA may appeal to their state of residence. Click here to find the contact information for each state agency that would handle the complaint.

Additional State Authorization Information


Not all of the online programs offered by Xavier have been approved in Kentucky. Please check the Council on Postsecondary Education’s website to view its listing of approved programs. For more information, please contact the Council on Postsecondary Education, 1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601.

Please be advised that our educator preparation programs are NOT accredited in Kentucky by the Education Professional Standards Board and are NOT recognized for initial, additional, or renewal of certification or salary enhancement (rank change) for K-12 educators in Kentucky. Residents of Kentucky are not permitted to enroll in Xavier’s M.Ed. in Special Education program. For more information, please visit the Education Professional Standards Board’s website


This institution is authorized by the Indiana Board for Proprietary Education, 101 W. Ohio St., Suite 670, Indianapolis, IN 46204-1984.


Xavier is applying for registration of its online programs in Maryland. The Commission’s registration of the fully online programs is not an authorization of the institution to operate in Maryland or an approval or an endorsement of the institution’s programs. For residents of Maryland, Xavier is subject to investigation of complaints by the Office of the Attorney General or the Maryland Higher Education Commission. Complaints should be directed to: Maryland Attorney General, Consumer Protection Division, 200 St. Paul St., Baltimore, MD 21202, 410-528-8662/888/743/0823 (toll free).

Pursuant to the Code of Maryland Regulations 13B.05.01, Xavier’s fully online programs will follow the Maryland refund policy for residents of Maryland. The minimum refund that shall be paid to a Maryland student who withdraws or is terminated after completing only a portion or a course, program, or term within the applicable billing period is as follows:

Proportion of Total Course, Program, or Term Completed as of Date of Withdrawal or Termination Tuition Refund
Less than 10% 90% refund
10% up to but not including 20% 80% refund
20% up to but not including 30% 60% refund
30% up to but not including 40% 40% refund
40% up to and including 60% 20% refund
More than 60% No refund

South Carolina

Residents of South Carolina may access a complaint form through the website of the Commission. The form must be completed, signed, and notarized. It may be submitted with the required documentation to or sent to Postsecondary Institution Licensing, South Carolina Commission on Higher Education, 1122 Lady Street, Suite 300, Columbia, SC 29201.

Note: International students in the U.S. cannot enroll in an online degree program to fulfill the legal requirement for an F-1 or J-1 visa.